The Physics of Computing

Physics of Computing cover

  Marilyn Wolf is the Rhesa "Ray" S. Farmer Distinguished Chair of Embedded Computing Systems and Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar at the Georgia Institute of Technology. She received the ASEE/CSE and HP Frederick E. Terman Award in 2003 and the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Education Award in 2006. She is a Fellow of the IEEE and ACM.

  • Covers the physical principles that underlie computer system design.
  • Supplementary materials on this Web site and Embedded Systems Channel on YouTube.
  • Explains the physics underlying architectural concepts such as DFVS, the memory wall, and the power wall.
  • A comprehensive introduction to the state-of-the-art for both students and practitioners.
      Table of Contents 
       Chapter 1 Electronic Computers
      Chapter 2 Transistors and Integrated Circuits
      Chapter 3 Logic Gates
      Chapter 4 Sequential Machines
      Chapter 5 Processors and Systems
      Chapter 6 Input and Output
      Chapter 7 Emerging Technologies
      Appendix A Useful Constants and Formulas
      Appendix B Circuits
      Appendix C Probability
      Appendix D Advanced Topics

Back to

© 2017 Marilyn Wolf